5/13/2012 Night Blooming Cactus

The night that I took this picture, I was at my mother’s home.  It was very dark outside and she pointed out of her kitchen window to her cactus plant.  It was in slow motion “blooming”  with gorgeous, huge flowers.  I took my camera outside and started flashing the blooms…. well… that was a mistake, the blooms would begin to close with each “flash”!  I didn’t know their secret.  The secret was they only bloomed in the dark.  I finally figured out the process and started snapping without any flash.  My camera was so inadequate to capture the delicate bloom’s real beauty, I had no night setting, but I do have a few pictures from that night.  I look at this picture and I remember the evening and my mother.

Leave a Reply

